Virtualization Settings

Virtual machine (VM) settings like VM Migration and VM Shutdown can be configured in Virtualization Settings.

If hyperconverged infrastructure (HCI) support is enabled, additional sections will appear in the Virtualization Settings screen. For more information see Hyperconverged Infrastructure Support.

For more information see:

 

vCenter Server VM Shutdown Duration is the shutdown duration given to the Virtual Machine on which vCenter Server is running. This is configurable and is set to 240 seconds by default.

If vCenter Server is running on a VM and this option is not displayed this indicates a configuration issue with vSphere. For more information see VMware Troubleshooting.

If the PowerChute virtual appliance is deployed on a vSAN/Dell VxRail host, the Skip Maintenance Mode checkbox must be selected. In a Dell VxRail configuration, PowerChute must be installed on the cluster storage; it cannot be installed on the local storage.

PowerChute will use the No Action flag when placing vSAN/Dell VxRail hosts into maintenance mode when all Hosts in the vSAN/Dell VxRail cluster are being shut down.

In an Advanced UPS configuration where each Host is protected by its own UPS or UPS group, if Fault Tolerance Threshold (FTT) support is enabled, PowerChute will use the Ensure Accessibility flag for maintenance mode if the FTT specified is less than the number of critical hosts in the cluster. For example, if FTT support is enabled and the FTT level is set to 1, in a 3-node cluster where only 1 host is impacted by a power outage, PowerChute will place that host into maintenance mode using the Ensure Accessibility flag. If the other hosts later encounter a power outage, they will be placed into maintenance mode using No Action.
  • Ensure Accessibility - vSAN/Dell VxRail ensures that all accessible virtual machines on this host remain accessible.
  • No Action - vSAN/Dell VxRail does not evacuate any data from the host. Virtual machines may become unaccessible. PowerChute uses the No Action flag when the entire cluster is being shut down, and it is expected that VMs become unaccessible until the UPS critical event is resolved and the hosts are taken out of maintenance mode.


Virtualization settings in Advanced UPS Configuration

In an Advanced UPS Configuration, settings entered on this page will be applied to all UPS Setups if the checkbox Apply Virtualization Settings to all UPS Setups is selected. This checkbox is selected by default. If the Apply Virtualization Settings to all UPS Setups checkbox is disabled, you can configure different virtualization settings for individual UPS groups.

If you have applied settings to individual UPS Setups you should uncheck this option to prevent them from being overwritten.

 

Copyright © 2020 Schneider Electric
All rights reserved
http://www.apc.com
Last Updated: 17 December, 2020
990-4595H
 
 Send any comments on this help to:
IE-PowerChute-feedback@schneider-electric.com